800-448-7469 Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5:00pm CST

Welcome to Dramatic Publishing!

Please note our seasonal hours: Monday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm CST and Tuesday - Friday, 8:30 am - 3:30 pm. 

Marrying Terry

Marrying Terry

By Gregg Opelka.

Product Code: MG5000

  • Full-length Play
  • Cast size: 5m., 4w. (4m., 3w. with doubling).

Rights and availability
This title can be licensed and sold throughout the World.

* Please note the royalty rate listed is the minimum royalty rate per performance. The actual royalty rate will be determined upon completion of a royalty application.

$9.95 /script

Min. Royalty Rate: $80/perf

In stock

Synopsis

It's New Year's Eve at the Drake Hotel. A massive snowstorm has paralyzed Chicago. Thirty-five-year-old librarian Terry Adams has just reserved the last room at the Drake—the presidential suite—for her and Jonathon, her long-distance boyfriend who's flying in from Boston. She's hoping after three years he'll finally ask her to marry him. Meanwhile, not far away in his swank Lincoln Park condo, Dr. Terry Adams, a 35-year-old milquetoast radiologist, has just (reluctantly) gotten engaged to his girlfriend of three years, Penny Parker. When a medical emergency summons Dr. Adams to the Drake Hotel, he has no idea what's in store for him. Or for the beautiful woman who shares the same name. No one is quite whom he or she seems to be in this romantic comedy of hate-at-first-sight. Before the old year ends, Terry and Terry undergo a life-changing epiphany—with the help of a missing chest x-ray, a champagne bucket, and the poet Keats.

Details

  • Status

    In stock

  • Type of Show Full-length Play
  • Product Code MG5000
  • Cast Size 7
  • Min. Royalty Rate $80/perf
  • Cost $9.95
  • Approx. Run Time 110 min

Categories

  • ISBN(13) 9781583426265
* Please note the royalty rate listed is the minimum royalty rate per performance. The actual royalty rate will be determined upon completion of a royalty application.

Customer Reviews

"Marrying Terry tells the universal story of finding love in unlikely places in a way that is full of charm and possibilities. The characters are accessible to actors of a high-school age or older and relatable to an audience of any age. Performed during the Christmas holiday season, this play can provide a sense of lightness and hope for the new year to come. We had a blast bringing it to life, and it was a big hit at our high school. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a play that is both fun and funny yet full of enough honesty to make the characters multi-dimensional and the story engaging."
Review by Rebecca Stang, John G. Diefenbaker High School, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Media Reviews

"Marrying Terry is an appealing, romantic fairy-tale romp … Opelka has crafted an ingenious series of coincidences and mistaken identities, peppered throughout with not only very funny one-liners but with a fairy tale touch and a wistful, soft mood. It will be a joy to watch other theaters take up this delightful script and make it a familiar name to audiences. I can imagine that it will have a long life in amateur and college theaters as well, with its truly delightful premise. A great winter escape, a delightful way to pass a cold evening. Don't wait for the movie, go see Marrying Terry now." -www.broadwayworld.com

"An utter delight from start to finish—as decadently enjoyable as a stay at Chicago's plush Drake Hotel, where most of the play is set." -QCOnline.com

"Future productions of this play should be plenty. The Drake Hotel, the fanciest lodging-for-hire in Chicago, is the perfect setting for a romantic comedy. Screwball farce is probably the most difficult genre for writers to pull off, but Gregg Opelka’s extensive experience as a composer has accustomed him to tracking several melodies progressing in simultaneous counterpoint, and so we can almost hear intricate toccata-and-fugue harmonies marking cadence under the escalating confusion as characters stumble ever more deeply into madcap misapprehension." -Windy City Times

"It's a musical without the music! Coupling the common theatrical themes of love and humor with the uncommon counterparts of radiology and rare books, Marrying Terry is just in time for the glacial, snow-white New Year’s Eve the Windy City sees every year." -www.hollywoodchicago.com

"Opelka has a wonderfully witty and comic touch and the show is overflowing with heart and romance." -NewCity

"This is a hoot! In the tradition of Neil Simon, Opelka has penned a smart, witty and romantic comedy. Filled with lovable everyday folks caught in ridiculous situations, Marrying Terry is a funny, sweet old-fashioned romantic comedy in the vein of those '50s—'60s scripts that you’d find Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart, Katherine Hepburn, Doris Day or Rock Hudson in. Who said they don’t write old-fashioned smart comedies?" -www.chicagocritic.com

"Two strangers with the same name accidentally double-book a room at Chicago’s Drake Hotel on New Year’s Eve. Hilarity ensues as a night of missed connections, proposal expectations and mistaken identities unravels in this show by playwright Gregg Opelka." -Chicago Tribune