Your browser does not support JavaScript, Please enable it.
  Top » Catalog » Genre » Comedy »
Keyword Search   
     Log In |  Cart Contents
Home
Show Finder
Titles A-Z
Authors A-Z
Search by Cast Size
Search by Performance Group
Search by Theme
Search by Genre
Multiple Criteria Search
Full-length Plays
Musicals
Accompaniment CDs
One-act Plays
Duet Scenes
Monologues
Children's Plays
Audience Participation Plays
Textbooks and Anthologies
CDs, DVDs and other Media
New and Featured Titles
Recent Acquisitions
New to our 2016/2017 Catalog
New to our 2015/2016 Catalog
Featured Plays
Planning Your Production
Important Things to Know
Licensing Information
Producing a Musical
Cuttings
Complete a Royalty Application
Meet Our Authors
Author Bios
Authors A-Z
Articles and Interviews
For Our Customers
Free Sound Effects
Free Posters A-Z
Script Excerpts
Music Clips
About Us
Contact Us
Order a Free Catalog
Affiliates and Other Links
FAQs
Submissions
The Man Who Lost the River
The Man Who Lost the River
By Bernard Sabath.

Cast: 5m., 4w. (1 girl.) It is a sunny afternoon in April 1910, on the verge of Samuel Clemens' 75th birthday, when Harold Atwater, a young publishing representative, comes to persuade the old writer to start a new novel in the vein of Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn. Twain refuses, claiming his humor has been used up and that he's forgotten all about boyhood—and furthermore is determined to "hooky out of this world" by the approaching light of Halley's comet, which last appeared in the sky on the night he was born. But then his interest is piqued by a mysterious teenager who lurks about the house, examining furnishings and filching cigars and sandwiches. Is the young hoodlum real? Eventually Twain traps the boy into conversation and comes to understand at least one 20th-century youngster. He teases information out of the boy and manages to influence his future. Then Twain decides to take a trip back to his old Missouri haunts to refresh his memory enough to—maybe—create a fictional youth, counterpart to the boys he knew long ago. At this point, Halley's comet—brilliant in the sky overhead--interrupts his plans. Two recognizable boys tumble in through the window and yell: "Hurry, Sam! Aren't you ready yet? We've got our raft ready and we're going to all the watery places. M-a-r-k three! Quarter-less-three! Half twain! Quarter twain! M-a-r-k twain! M-a-r-k twain!"—then the sound of a steamboat whistle and the surge of a calliope. One int. set.

Play details
Status:  In Stock
Type of show:  Full-Length
Catalog Code:  M81
Cast Size:  9
No. of Act(s):  2
Pages:  72
Royalty:  $75.00 /perf.*
Cost:  $8.95
Approx. Running Time:  90 min.
Categories
Target Audience: High School | College and Adult | Family (All Audiences)
Performing Group: High Schools | College Theatre | Senior Theatre | Community Theatre | Stock & Lort
Genre: Comedy | Drama
ISBN (10): 0871291355
Rights & Availability
This title can be licensed/sold throughout the world
* Please note that royalties quoted in our catalog are intended for K-12 schools with a standard curriculum only. All other producing groups must submit a completed application.


Add to Cart  $8.95        (Qty)
 Add to wish list
Also available for this title