Your browser does not support JavaScript, Please enable it.
  Top » Catalog » Genre » Comedy »
Keyword Search   
     Log In |  Cart Contents
Home
Show Finder
Titles A-Z
Authors A-Z
Search by Cast Size
Search by Performance Group
Search by Theme
Search by Genre
Multiple Criteria Search
Full-length Plays
Musicals
Accompaniment CDs
One-act Plays
Duet Scenes
Monologues
Children's Plays
Audience Participation Plays
Textbooks and Anthologies
CDs, DVDs and other Media
New and Featured Titles
Recent Acquisitions
New to our 2016/2017 Catalog
New to our 2015/2016 Catalog
Featured Plays
Planning Your Production
Important Things to Know
Licensing Information
Producing a Musical
Cuttings
Complete a Royalty Application
Meet Our Authors
Author Bios
Authors A-Z
Articles and Interviews
For Our Customers
Free Sound Effects
Free Posters A-Z
Script Excerpts
Music Clips
About Us
Contact Us
Order a Free Catalog
Affiliates and Other Links
FAQs
Submissions
The Dream Thief
The Dream Thief
By Robert Schenkkan.

Cast: 5m., 2w. (3.) "The Dream Thief is about a family faced with a crisis: the illness of the father. It deals with the threat of loss. There is an adult world and a children's world in a family. In crisis those worlds collide, and the play takes place in that collision area. The play is full of humourous and outrageous characters and has strong elements of fantasy" (Robert Schenkkan). Daddy has become mysteriously ill and his two pre-teen children, Susan and Jamie, are convinced that someone has stolen his dreams. In the hospital, they wait up one night to ambush the Dream Thief and, to their astonishment, they challenge and pursue a mysterious and terrifying cloaked stranger into the magical, and now dying, land of Nod. There, they must struggle with ravenous Bedbugs and fierce Night Terrors. They must answer the riddles of the deadly Night Hag. They must face their fears and put aside their differences as they work together to solve the mysteries of this strange and beautiful kingdom. Finally, in the ruined city of Morpheus, they must confront the real and surprising, Overlord of Evil. In the tradition of L'Engle, Tolkein and Baum, here is a new fantasy classic of great charm, humor and heart by the Pulitzer prize-winning author of "The Kentucky Cycle." Area staging.

Play details
Status:  In Stock
Type of show:  Full-Length
Catalog Code:  D30
Cast Size:  10
No. of Act(s):  2
Pages:  66
Royalty:  $80.00 /perf.*
Cost:  $9.95
Approx. Running Time:  80 min.
Categories
Target Audience: Family (All Audiences)
Performing Group: Middle Schools | High Schools | College Theatre | Community Theatre | Stock & Lort
Genre: Comedy | Drama
ISBN (10): 0871299518
Biographies
Robert Schenkkan received a bachelor's degree from the University of Texas at Austin and an M.F.A. in Theatre Arts from Cornell University. He has worked as an actor/writer on Broadway, off-Broadway, in film, in television and at regional theatres across the country. Schenkkan is the author of The Kentucky Cycle, Heaven on Earth, Final Passages and Conversations with the Spanish ...More
Rights & Availability
This title can only be licensed/sold in the U.S. and Canada
* Please note that royalties quoted in our catalog are intended for K-12 schools with a standard curriculum only. All other producing groups must submit a completed application.


Add to Cart  $9.95        (Qty)
 Add to wish list
Also available for this title
Read Excerpt 
Reviews